SpiritFOOD

Nutrition & food advice, healthy (and some naughty) plant-based recipes & tips on how to feed yourself delicious food, which is good for your health, for the animals and for the planet.

Recipe: Garlic Vegetable Bolognaise

Welcome to my second post! I thought I’d post my first recipe.

My recipe is garlic vegetable bolognaise.

I used:

– onion
– mushroom
– cauliflower
– organic hard tofu
– carrot
– kale
– garlic granules
– chunky vegetable pasta sauce (you can use a jar of pasta sauce or bolognaise sauce or you can make the sauce from scratch)

I used spaghetti in this recipe but you can use basically anything, for eg. penne or spiral pasta, basmati or brown rice, or popular alternative grains such as quinoa and millet.

I only use tofu (almost always, hard tofu) in main meals every 2-4 weeks. When I do, I usually make sure its organic and non-GMO. On some occasions, I’ll use soft and/or silken tofu in my baking, in puddings, cheesecakes, brownies etc.

Tofu is an extremely versatile food. Like many foods, its bland but will absorb ANY flavour, depending on how you prepare it beforehand; how long you try to remove excess moisture (if you don’t dry it well enough, in many cases, it won’t absorb your chosen flavour entirely) how you thin or thick you cut the tofu into pieces and how long you cook it with the sauce and other vegetables of your choice.

I prepare it by getting two plates and a few pieces of absorbant paper towels. I put some paper towels on a plate, put the tofu on the paper towel, put the pieces of paper towel on the tofu, get the second plate and press down on the tofu and leave for 3-5 minutes. Afterwards, I cut the tofu into my desired sized pieces. If you want them to be a little crunchy, cut them into thin slices (but not too thin or they may fall apart) and fry in a frying pan for 5 minutes minimum.

I then add the chopped onion, cook the onion and tofu for a few minutes and then add the rest of the chopped vegetables. I cook them for a 5-8 minutes and then add the garlic granules and pasta or bolognaise sauce. After 5-10 minutes … Done!

Bolognaise has been one of my favourite meals since I was a child.

From childhood up until 6 years ago, the main ingredient was always beef mince.

Since going vegetarian, and eventually vegan, I started making my own different concoctions for my bolognaise dishes. It’s fun experimenting with all the different vegetables. Mushroom had ALWAYS been one of the main veggies in it. Eggplant is also great in bolognaise meals, with its nice ‘meaty’ texture (same as mushroom too!).

This is the first time that I’ve added kale to a bolognaise. If you haven’t tried it in yours, I’d suggest you give it a go.

If you are interested in trying go veg or vegan or just curious, I hope this recipe has given you some inspiration and some ideas on vegan main meals at home. By giving vegetables a go in your meals instead of meat, not only can your meal taste great but you are eating a lot less calories, more vitamins, still getting plenty of protein etc that you’d normally get from meat and by eating less meat and more veg, you’re helping animals and the environment.

I’ll be posting again soon, may make the next post a spotlight on a food. If there’s a food out there you want to know more about, let me know!

Ciao!

L x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2013 by and tagged , , , .

Navigation

